Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017 – €5 000 Award for Journalists

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017 – €5 000 Award for Journalists

Deadline: March 10, 2017

Entries are invited for the 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize. Organised by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development since 1992, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded to amateur and professional journalists for outstanding reporting on development and poverty eradication.

Launched with the hashtag #TellMyStory, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize celebrates the best traditions of journalism in uncovering powerful and moving stories, giving a voice to those who often find it impossible or difficult to be heard. The Prize is an opportunity for journalists to demonstrate their commitment to reporting on development and poverty eradication as well as inspiring people to improve lives in their own communities.

The Prize

  • The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will be awarded to one amateur and one professional journalist from each of the following regions: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Europe.
  • Each winner will be awarded €5 000. One amateur and one professional journalist will also receive the same prize in the special Freedom of Religion or Belief category.
  • Submissions for the main Prize and special category will be assessed by an independent jury, which will also award an additional €5 000 Grand Prize to one of the winners.

All 13 winners will receive their awards at a ceremony during the 2017 European Development Days (link is external) in Brussels this June.


Two types of journalists can enter the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize: professional journalists and amateur journalists. The eligibility criteria for both types are defined hereunder:

  • Professional journalist:
    • Holder of a valid press card (national press card, or press card issued by the International Federation of Journalists); and/or
    • Journalism must be their main source of income; and/or
    • Member of a journalism trade union.
  • Amateur journalist:
    • Do not comply with the above criteria to enter as professional journalists.
  • All entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted or have appeared in an agency dispatch for the first time between 11 March 2016 and 10 March 2017.
  • Entries must address one of the following themes:
    • Development and Poverty Eradication
    • Promoting Freedom of Religion or Belief outside the European Union
  • Entries will be assessed on the following:
    • Relevance
    • Quality and investigative depth
    • Originality


Please submit your entry via this link.

For more information, visit Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.