World Habitat Awards Competition 2018 (£10,000 Prize)

World Habitat Awards Competition 2018 (£10,000 Prize)

Deadline: March 31, 2018

Entries for the 2018 World Habitat Awards competition are now open. The World Habitat Awards recognise and highlight innovative, outstanding and sometimes revolutionary housing ideas, projects and programmes from across the world.

Each year, two winners receive £10,000 each and a trophy, presented at a global UN-Habitat event. More than 250 outstanding World Habitat Awards projects have been recognised over the years, demonstrating substantial, lasting improvements in living conditions.

The Awards were established in 1985 for the identification and the promotion of good habitat practices. They were initiated in 1987 as World Habitat contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. The concept of identification of good practice was virtually unknown in 1985 and the Awards were supposed to run over three years only. However, the response was so positive that World Habitat decided to keep the competition running. After 30 years, the World Habitat Awards are going from strength to strength.


  • As well as international recognition, a prize of £10,000 is made to each of the two winning projects.
  • Trophies are also presented to the winning projects and travel and accommodation costs are met for one representative of each winning project to attend the awards ceremony.

World Habitat does not provide funding for housing projects. The aim of the World Habitat Awards is the identification and recognition of innovative and sustainable housing solutions worldwide and an award of £10,000 is given each year to the two winning projects.



  • Any individual, organisation or government who has an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world.
  • More than one entry can be made by the same individual or organisation.
  • Entries should relate to housing projects and processes that are either completed or in progress. Those that are at design stage only or in the very early stages of development cannot be considered.
  • Previous entrants can re-submit in subsequent years providing that the project has been further developed in the intervening time period.

Housing projects and approaches are sought that

  • demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries all around the world
  • can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate
  • are already being implemented or are completed ie not at design stage or very early stages of development
  • view the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, health benefits, capacity building or education.

All entries are assessed and up to 12 projects are shortlisted by an assessment committee. These shortlisted projects are then evaluated by an independent advisory group.

Suggested Areas for Submission

  • Provision of low-cost, affordable housing for low-income households
  • Environmentally sustainable housing
  • Restoration of existing housing
  • Provision of housing designed to withstand natural disasters
  • Housing provision for those with special needs
  • Technical innovation
  • Housing developed and managed on a cooperative or other socially sustainable basis
  • Projects and processes that ensure the right to land and housing

Please note that the project subjects listed above are suggestions only. Projects relating to other housing issues may be submitted if desired.


Complete the online application form.

For more information, visit World Habitat Awards.