UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2015

UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2015

Deadline: February 15, 2015

The UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve.

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger. The Prize is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia) and the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland).


  • The prize is awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May). It is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.


  • Only Member States, regional and international organizations, and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression can nominate candidates.
  • Nominees should be journalists.

Application Process

Fill out the form and send it by post or email to

Communication and Information Sector,
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development,
Section for Freedom of Expression,
7 Place de Fontenoy,
75007 Paris,
E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org

For more information, visit UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize.