Grassroots Justice Prize 2018 for organizations shaping the Law ($10,000 Prize)

Grassroots Justice Prize 2018 for organizations shaping the Law ($10,000 Prize)

Deadline: November 24, 2017

Applications and nominations are now invited for the Grassroots Justice Prize 2018. The biennial Grassroots Justice Prize competition recognizes grassroots organizations and institutions, large and small, across the globe, that are working to put the power of law into people’s hands.

Are you an organization that helps people to know, use or shape the law? Apply now for your chance to win $10,000. Do you know an organization, social enterprise, or public institution, that you do not currently work for, that you think we should consider for the Grassroots Justice Prize awards? If so, please complete the short nomination form below.


  • The Achmed Dean Sesay Memorial Prize for Innovation – $10,000
    In honor of Achmed Sessay, a great champion of justice and a pioneer in the field of legal empowerment.
  • The Nomboniso Nangu Maqubela Memorial Prize for Scalability and Sustainability -$10,000​.
    ​In honor of Nomboniso Nangu Maqubela, a tireless advocate for community-based paralegals and access to justice.
  • The Elders’ #WalkTogether Prize for Courage – $10,000
    #WalkTogether is a global campaign to champion the voices and deeds of groups that work to advance the freedoms that unite us. The winner of this prize will be determined through a public vote.


  • The Grassroots Justice Prize competition is open to non-profit organizations, social enterprises, and public institutions from all around the world.
  • Projects that are restricted to one part of an organization’s overall work will also be considered.
  • ​Organizations that partner directly with Namati are ineligible for the prize.

Eligible Projects

All three of this year’s awards are for grassroots justice projects that focus on legal empowerment. Legal empowerment means giving people the power to know, use, and shape the laws that affect them.

Eligible projects might use a community paralegal approach or they may be providing legal education and basic rights awareness. The key is that they are putting the power of law in people’s hands in order to tackle poverty, injustice, or other social problems.


There are three stages in selecting the Grassroots Justice Prize winners.

  • Stage One: Submission of Applications:
    • Download the application form, complete it, and email it to [email protected], along with any support documents requested in the form by November 24, 2017.
    • If you would like to nominate an organization, please fill out the short online nomination form by November 10, 2017.  We will then reach out to the organization and invite them to apply by the November 24 submission deadline.
  • Stage Two: Shortlisting
    • Namati and the Grassroots Justice Prize judges will shortlist the most promising entries. All shortlisted applicants will be contacted and may be asked to provide more information.
    • The shortlisted applicants for The Elders’ #WalkTogether Prize for Courage will be profiled on the Grassroots Justice Prize website and a winner will be determine through a public vote.
  • Stage Three: Results
    • The Grassroots Justice Prize judging panel — comprised of notable legal empowerment practitioners and academics — will select the winners of the Achmed Dean Sesay Memorial Prize for Innovation and the Nomboniso Nangu Maqubela Memorial Prize for Scalability and Sustainability.
    • The winner of the Elders’ #WalkTogether Prize for Courage will be determined by a public vote. Shortlisted candidates will be showcased on the website and people will be able to vote for their favorite.

All Grassroots Justice Prize winners will be announced in January 2018.

For more information, visit Grassroots Justice Prize.