2018 Free Media Awards for Journalists from Russia and Eastern Europe

2018 Free Media Awards for Journalists from Russia and Eastern Europe

Deadline: March 2, 2018

The Fritt Ord Foundation and the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius invite nominations of independent journalists, bloggers, Internet media and newspapers for the 2018 Free Media Awards. The prizes provide support for journalists and media that report independently and refuse to give up in the face of threats.

The media operate under tremendous pressure in many countries in Eastern Europe. With the Free Media Awards, we seek to encourage journalists and media to carry on their work, despite threats and violent oppression, and to contribute to strengthen independent journalism.

The ‘Free Media Awards’ is the new name for the Press Prizes awarded by the two foundations The Fritt Ord Foundation and the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius. The press prizes are intended to support the independent role of journalists, who continue their word despite reprisals and financial difficulties. The two foundations have been awarding press prizes to media in Russia and Eastern Europe since 2004.


  • The Free Media Awards will be awarded to journalists and media from Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Armenia.


Nominations should include an explanation of why the journalist or media outlet is considered to be a good candidate for the Free Media Awards. Please note that nominations should include references to the quality of their work. The nomination statement should be 1 to 2 pages long, and include a short biography and links to articles, where relevant. To qualify for nomination, journalists and media outlets must have demonstrated a commitment to democracy and freedom of expression.

Please send nominations by e-mail to [email protected]

For more information, visit Free Media Awards.