TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize 2018 for Female Scientists (Award of $4,000)

TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize 2018 for Female Scientists (Award of $4,000)

Deadline: May 7, 2018

Application for the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize 2018 for Female Scientists is now open. This annual prize, named after the TWAS Fellow Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, recognizes women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) countries. The cash award is generously provided by Professor Al-Kharafi and will rotate among various fields of science.

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is the hub for a global network of scientists and organizations working to advance science in the developing world. TWAS also is actively engaged in its headquarters city of Trieste, Italy. As part of the ‘Trieste System’ of scientific organizations, they regularly join in public initiatives such as the Europe-wide ‘Researchers’ Night’, ‘Trieste Next’ and other educational projects.


  • A cash award of USD4,000 will be presented to the selected female scientist.


  • Nominations for the 2018 prize are invited either in Agricultural Sciences or in Biology;
  • Nominees must be female scientists national of a ST-lagging country and have been living and working there for at least two years immediately prior to their nomination (i.e. from February 15, 2016 to February 15, 2018);
  • Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.

S&T-lagging Countries

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Rep, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep. Congo, Djibouti, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Kiribati, Lao People’s Dem. Rep, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip), Paraguay, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe


A nomination is considered complete only if includes all of the following information/material:

  • Nominator contact details;
  • Nominee contact details (self nominations are not accepted) and general information on the nominee, including the country where she has been working and living in the past 2 years;
  • Authorization from the nominee (i.e. the candidate) to process her personal data for the purposes of her nomination, in conformity to Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform. The privacy authorization form is available for download in the section ‘nominee’s personal data’. The form must be filled in and signed by the candidate and then uploaded onto the on-line platform;
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements either in Agricultural Sciences or Biology);
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in Agricultural Sciences or Biology. Supporting statements should explain in detail the work performed by the candidate and its significance in the relevant scientific context. Clear reference should be made to the scientific impact of the nominee’s work. Vague supporting statements will not be considered and will negatively affect the evaluation;
  • Clear and detailed account of any time spent abroad by the nominee in the past two years;
  • PhD: information on subject area, year and awarding institution;
  • Brief information on membership in academies and societies;
  • Brief information on awards and honours received;
  • List of 10 most significant publications listed in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee’s brief CV and her complete list of publications are also to be uploaded, separately, onto the online platform.

Click here to begin a nomination

For more information, visit TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize.