Disaster Risk Reduction Network of Africa Journalists (DIRAJ) Media Awards 2018

Disaster Risk Reduction Network of Africa Journalists (DIRAJ) Media Awards 2018

Deadline: October 1, 2018 

Applications are invited for the DIRAJ Media Awards 2018. The awards recognize and honour the work of journalists and media houses in Africa or the Arab States that have provided coverage and consistent reporting on stories that enhance public understanding, awareness and engagement with policies aimed at reducing economic losses as a result of disasters.

The Award Ceremony will take place in Tunis, Tunisia on October 13, 2018 during the 7th Africa Regional Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction. The Disaster Risk Reduction Network of Africa Journalists (DIRAJ) is launching the award in partnership with the United Nations office for Disaster Risk Reduction in Africa, Arab States and Geneva.


  • The Best Print DRR story
  • The Best Television DRR story
  • The Best Radio DRR Story and
  • The Best Online/New Media DRR story


  • The award will be in the form of a trophy, a citation, and cash.
  • The winners will be invited to the award ceremony that will be held on the International Day for Disaster Reduction October 13, 2018 – IDDR and receive a certificate. DIRAJ & UNISDR shall be responsible for the organizational logistics on the award day
  • All the overall category winners will qualify to join a one year mentorship programme by DIRAJ and UNISDR in partnership with academic institutions that will be identified across the continent
  • The winners will be used by DIRAJ and UNISDR to promote DRR agenda in their respective countries or indeed at any level as long as they reflect reasonable influence
  • The winners will be qualified ambassadors of influence in their respective countries who shall undertake to become mentors for other journalists interested to master DRR reporting


  • Open to accredited Journalists working in Television, Radio, Print Media and verified news websites. Proof of media accreditation will be required during submission of the entry;
  • Stories must have been broadcast on national reach media between January 2018 and September 1, 2018.
  • Stories should be submitted in English/French only. If provided in another language, a transcript of the translation with appropriate time codes/subtitles should be provided and labelled as ANNEX 1- LANGUAGE TRANSLATION;
  • Stories should reflect the unique challenges and solutions that reside in the locality, country as opposed to external models.

Judging Criteria

The judging panel is keen to assess stories that showcase:

  • Efforts taken or not taken to significantly reduce the number of deaths and the number of people affected and the (de) increase in the direct economic losses relative to global gross domestic product caused by disasters, including water-related disasters, with a focus on protecting the poor and people in vulnerable situations.
  • The use of Desinventor tool in the National Disaster Loss Database to assess direct economic loss in relation to global GDP, damage to critical infrastructure and number of disruptions to basic services, attributed to disasters.
  • Compelling data of physical damage value (housing unit loss, infrastructure loss by event, by hazard type e.g. disaggregation by climatological, hydrological, meteorological, geophysical, biological and extra-terrestrial for natural hazards) and thereafter converts the same to monetary value and holds those entrusted with action to account.
  • The special needs, voices, concerns on economic costs of disasters and ways of reducing such losses by marginalized communities, post conflict societies, disadvantaged persons and often neglected Constituencies e.g. rural populations, urban poor, pastoralists, prisoners of thought and conscience, women groups, children and youth.
  • The role/steps taken by national disaster management agencies, civil protection agencies, and meteorological agencies, and line ministries in reduction of economic losses as a result of putting place national disaster risk reduction policies.


Click here to apply

For more infomration, visit DIRAJ Media Awards.