United Nations Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021

United Nations Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021

Deadline: June 15, 2021

Applications for the United Nations Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021 are now open. The Fellowship is a unique opportunity for young, working journalists from developing countries and countries with economies in transition to cover the United Nations.

During the 3-week program, fellows have an opportunity to attend special briefings, interview senior officials and exchange ideas with colleagues from around the world. In previous years, fellows have met with the UN Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, President of the General Assembly and permanent representatives to the United Nations. The program also arranges visits to various news organizations, such as the New York Times, Democracy Now! and BuzzFeed.

Traditionally, the RAF Fellowship is held every year in New York in September to coincide with the opening sessions of the General Assembly. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, note that the 2021 RAF Program is entirely virtual. However, depending on performance and commitment, Fellows of this cohort may be strongly considered for a future in-person RAF.

About the Fellowship

The Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship was mandated in December 1980 by UN General Assembly Resolution 35/201. Formerly known as the DPI Training Program for Broadcasters and Journalists from Developing Countries, the program was renamed in 2003 in honor of Reham Al-Farra, a 29-year-old Jordanian public information officer who was killed in the 19 August 2003 bombing of the UN headquarters in Baghdad.


  • Open to full-time working journalists between 22 and 35 years of age who are nationals and residents of the eligible countries with developing economies or economies in transition.
  • Fellows must be both citizens of one of the eligible countries and working full-time for a news outlet based there.
  • Applications from freelance journalists will be considered. As with all applicants, freelance journalists must provide strong work samples relevant to the United Nations’ priorities. Where applicable, they are also encouraged to attach documentation of their press accreditation (e.g., membership in a press syndicate, union or similar association).

Eligible Countries

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe


You will need the following documents:

  • Three (3) published work samples related to international affairs. These can be submitted in their original language. Please include a brief summary in English for material that is not submitted in one of the six official UN languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. 
  • A letter of reference from your current employer or (for freelancers) an editor you have worked with.
  • Your curriculum vitae in English or French.
  • Proof of education (your highest degree or diploma).

Click here to apply

For more information, visit UNRAF.