Open Society Foundations/University of Warwick Scholarships

Deadline: January 28, 2013

The Open Society Foundations / University of Warwick Scholarships aim to provide independent postgraduate study in the United Kingdom for students who have demonstrated both academic excellence and the potential to become leaders, decision-makers, and opinion formers in their own country. The scholarships enable scholars to pursue a twelve-month taught postgraduate course at the University of Warwick. Subject to satisfactory progress, the scholarships lead to the award of a Master’s degree.

The following programs are offered:

  1. MA in Creative and Media Enterprises
  2. MA in Global Media and Communication
  3. MA in International Cultural Policy and Management
  4. MA in Gender and International Development
  5. MA in Social Research
  6. LLM in International Development Law and Human Rights

Each scholarship at the University of Warwick provides one-year tuition, a stipend to cover living costs (for one person only), and return air travel from the scholar’s home country. Upon completion of their studies in the UK, scholars are expected to return to their home country to resume their studies or work there.

Eligibility Criteria

The scholarship program is open to applicants from Belarus, Kazakhstan, Moldova, and Mongolia.

Applicants must:

  • be nationals of, and resident in one of the selected countries during the academic year in which they apply for the award; applicants who are temporarily out of the country (for a total period of less than three consecutive months) may be treated as being resident;
  • display intellectual ability and leadership potential;
  • already hold (or expect to hold by the time of taking up the award) a degree of an equivalent standard to a good UK second-class Honors degree;
  • return to their home country at the end of their scholarship period to continue their studies / work there; and
  • have passed an appropriate English language test by the time of taking up the award. The University would expect candidates to have normally achieved at the time of taking up the award of the following scores:
  • IELTS: minimum 6.5 with no less than 6.0 in any component;
  • TOEFL (iBT): minimum score 92 with the following components: reading 22, writing 21, speaking 23, and listening 21;
  • Cambridge Advanced (CAE): minimum score 60 (or C) with at least 3 components borderline and 1 weak;
  • Cambridge Proficiency (CPE): minimum score pass with 4 components at any pass grade.
  • Preference will be given to applicants who have not previously studied outside of their home country.

Ineligibility Criteria

Please note that if you have applied or are applying for other grants, fellowships, or scholarships with the Open Society Foundations you should inform your local representative of the Open Society Scholarship Programs in your application. While you may apply for different forms of the Foundations’ support simultaneously, you can be awarded only one Open Society Foundations scholarship or grant for a given period.

Employees, employees’ relatives (or former employees who have left employment less than two years before) of the local representatives of the Open Society Scholarship Programs directly involved in the Open Society Scholarship Programs and the participating universities will not be eligible to apply for these awards.

For more information, click here.