Call for Nominations: Nansen Refugee Award 2013

Deadline: January 25, 2013

Nominations are invited for the Nansen Refugee Award 2013.

Do you know of anybody who has gone beyond the call of duty and shown outstanding dedication and service to the refugee cause? Or maybe a group of people or an organization? Any person can nominate candidates (individuals, groups of people or organizations) Self-nominations and nominations of current or former UNHCR staff are not encouraged.

Established in 1954, the Nansen Refugee Award is given to a person or group for outstanding work on behalf of the forcibly displaced. The award is named after Fridtjof Nansen, an intrepid polar explorer and humanitarian who went on to serve as the first High Commissioner for Refugees for the League of Nations and won the 1922 Nobel Peace Prize.

The award consists of a commemorative medal and a US$100,000 monetary prize donated by the governments of Norway and Switzerland to support a project of the laureate’s choice to benefit displaced people.

Nominate now!

Selection Process

The independent Nansen Refugee Award Committee, chaired by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, selects the annual laureate by a unanimous or majority decision.


What distinguishes the Nansen Refugee Award laureate?

Each laureate for the Nansen Refugee Award is selected in line with the following:

  • The deed for which the person/entity is nominated should either take place outside the framework of normal professional duties and/or go beyond the call of duty;
  • It should demonstrate courage;
  • It should raise awareness for refugees; and
  • It should, in a significant way, benefit the beneficiaries the Awardee serves and possibly also the country/area where the Awardee operates.

For more information, click here.