Call for Proposals: 2013 USAID/Horticulture CRSP Trellis Fund

Deadline: March 4, 2013

The Horticulture Collaborative Research Support Program (Horticulture CRSP) in partnership with USAID has launched the Trellis Fund Project Proposals. The Trellis Fund is currently accepting proposals from developing world organisations on topics related to fruit and vegetable marketing, production or consumption. The Funds will finance up to 12 projects in 2013.

About the Trellis Fund

The goal of the Horticulture CRSP Trellis Fund is to link graduate students in the United States to agricultural NGOs/universities/government agencies and graduate students in developing countries through a unique funding structure. The Trellis Fund will enable the host organizations to conduct adaptive research and extend horticultural information to local farmers and build the capacity of graduate students in the United States and developing countries. Proposals can address horticultural production (including irrigation and fertilization), pest management, postharvest, nutrition or marketing problems that face local farmers. Proposals can also address related social and economic processes.


The Trellis Fund will support the host organization’s farmer outreach program with a $2,000 contract. The host organization can use the funds to pay for educational materials, demonstration plots, transportation costs, and to provide honoraria to staff for conducting adaptive research and extending new information to farmers. The Trellis Fund will also pay fellowships to U.S. graduate students to cover their travel expenses to visit with the host organization and for corresponding with the host organization via email.


The Trellis Fund accepts proposals from developing world organizations in our focus countries on topics related to fruit and vegetable marketing, production or consumption. Preference will be given to first-time applicants, although previous Trellis Fund recipients are welcome to apply.

Focus Countries: Uganda, Senegal, Guatemala, Bangladesh, Zambia, Ghana, Honduras, Tajikistan, Rwanda, Liberia, Haiti, Nepal, Kenya, Cambodia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Mozambique and Tanzania.

For more information, click here.