The TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize of $100,000

Deadline: June 10, 2013

Lenovo has partnered with TWAS to launch a high-level prize to give international recognition and visibility to individual scientists in the developing world for their outstanding scientific achievements. Nominations are invited for the prestigious ‘TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize’ of 100,000-dollar to be awarded to outstanding scientists in the developing world.

About the Awards

The first edition will honour researchers in the field of physics and astronomy. During the first four-year cycle (2013-2016), the prize subject will focus on the basic sciences, with the specific subject area changing each year: physics and astronomy (2013), biological sciences (2014), mathematics (2015) and chemical sciences (2016).

Lenovo is a USD30-billion personal technology company, and one of the top two PC makers globally, serving customers in more than 160 countries. Dedicated to building exceptionally engineered PCs and mobile internet devices, Lenovo’s business is built on product innovation, a highly efficient global supply chain and strong strategic execution.


  • The TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize will carry a monetary award of USD100,000 provided by Lenovo,
  • A medal
  • A certificate highlighting the recipient’s major contributions to science.

The prize will be presented to the recipient at a special ceremony arranged by TWAS.


  • Candidates must be nationals of a developing country
  • They must have lived and worked in a developing country for the last 10 years.
  • The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.
  • Jury members and previous winners of the Trieste Science Prize (also administered by TWAS) will not be eligible for the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.
  • Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions.
  • Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.

For more information, click here.