UK-DFID Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for Mid-Career Professionals

Deadline: December 3, 2013

Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are now open applications. The fellowships are for mid-career academics from developing Commonwealth countries to enable award holders to spend three months at a UK university updating their skills and knowledge. These fellowships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The main purpose of Commonwealth Academic Fellowships is to enhance the careers of recipients through the development of new skills and contacts, or through networking and updating knowledge and skills.


Each year, the CSC invites each nominating university/university body to forward a specific number of nominations. Each nominating university/university body is responsible for its own selection process, and in most cases they will set their own closing date, which will be before the CSC’s deadline for nominations (17 December 2013).

In most instances, nominations for Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are made by specific developing country universities, which are responsible for advertising the fellowships to their staff. In Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka, nominations are made by the University Grants Commission. In Pakistan, nominations are made by the Higher Education Commission.

The CSC also invites alumni who held Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD to apply directly to the CSC for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship. All eligible alumni will be sent a letter with details of how to apply.

Terms and conditions and eligibility

Alumni who wish to apply directly to the CSC for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship must:

  • have been awarded a PhD by a UK institution between 1 October 2002 and 1 October 2011, while holding a Commonwealth Scholarship
  • meet all the standard eligibility requirements
  • be from and be currently employed as an academic at a university in one of the following Commonwealth countries: Bangladesh, Barbados, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad, Uganda, Zambia

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the proposal
  • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

See Selection criteria for 2014 Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for further details.

For more information, click here.