Presidential Special Scholarship Scheme for Innovation and Development 2014/15

Deadline: November 8, 2013

The National Universities Commission invites applications from qualified candidates for the second edition of the Presidential Special Scholarship Scheme for Innovation and Development (PRESSID) for the 2014/2015 academic session. This is part of the Federal Government of Nigeria’s efforts to achieve the goals of Vision 20:2020 and the Transformation Agenda to develop a critical mass of professionals who would serve as catalysts of change and agents of scientific and technological advancement, as well as sustainable economic development. Outstanding students will be sponsored for postgraduate studies in the top 25 universities in the world.

Eligibility Criteria

Interested candidates should:

  • be graduates from the 2010/2011 and 2011/2012 academic sessions, who would have completed their National Youth Service by October 2013;
  • have obtained First Class Honours degree from any recognised and approved University in the following disciplines and aim at postgraduate degrees in the specified and allied disciplines:
  • Sciences: Nuclear Physics, Operations Research, Industrial Chemistry, Quantitative Genetics, etc
  • Basic Medical Sciences: Anatomy, Physiology, Medical Biochemistry, etc;
  • Special Aspects of Biology: Biometrics, Molecular Biology, etc;
  • Economics: Econometrics, Development Economics, etc;
  • Engineering & Technology: Aeronautical Engineering, Mechatronics, Metallurgy, Material Science and Production Engineering, Nanotechnology, Cyber-Security, Software Engineering, etc;
  • Medicine: Oncology, Human Genetics, Hepatology, Nuclear Medicine, Geriatrics, etc;


*In the case of Medicine, candidates must have a minimum of 2 Distinctions in their Part 3 and Part 4 MBBS examinations; In all cases, candidates must:

  • be below 30 years of age by October 2013;
  • be computer literate; and
  • be ready to be bonded and to work, preferably, as academic staff in any public university or research institute for a minimum period of five (5) years.

Please note that universities in the United States of America require candidates to sit for the Graduate Record Exams (GRE) before they can secure admission.

For more information, click here.