UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2014

Deadline: February 15, 2014

UNESCO invites nominations for the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2014. Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

The Prize is awarded annually and marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000. This year’s prize will be awarded on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day, on 3 May 2014.


  • It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve.
  • Candidates can be submitted by Member States and organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression.

How to submit your nomination

Only Member States, regional and international organizations, and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression can nominate candidates.

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2014 by post or by email to:

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris
E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org

For more information, click here.