The Zawadi Africa Education Fund 2017

The Zawadi Africa Education Fund 2017

Deadline: March 31, 2017

Applications are now been accepted for the Zawadi Africa Education Fund  2017. Zawadi Africa Education Fund is a leadership development program that provides university scholarships and leadership development and life skills training to academically gifted but financially disadvantaged African girls, with the objective of developing a pipeline of young African women leaders.

Zawadi Africa takes the students enrolled in the program through a rigorous nine-month period where the student will be coached and prepared to apply to partner schools offering scholarships.


To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, the following criteria must be met

  • Be a female student in one of these countries: Kenya, Uganda, Ghana and Mozambique
  • Have an A or an A- in your KCSE exams.
  • Have undertaken a leadership role(s) in your school and/or community.
  • Have a financially needy background.
  • Should have cleared high school no more than two years before applying to Zawadi Africa.

Partner Institutions 

  • Augustana College (U.S)
  • Arizona State University, AZ
  • Arkansas Baptist College, AR
  • Asheshi University, Ghana
  • Benedict College (U.S)
  • Brown University, RI
  • Bryn Mawr College (U.S)
  • Cape Town University (South Africa)
  • Carthage College (U.S)
  •  College Of Mt. St. Joseph, OH
  • Concordia College, MN
  • Chapman College, CA
  • Columbia University (U.S)
  • Dordt College (U.S)
  • Duke University, NC
  • Fairleigh Dickinson Uni. , NJ
  • Harvard University (U.S)
  • Hamilton University, NY
  • Hillsdale College, MI
  • Hobart & William Smith College, NY
  • Harvey Mudd College (U.S)
  • Hofstra University (U.S)
  • Jomo Kenyatta University Of Agriculture And Technology (Kenya)
  • Kwame Nkrumah University, Ghana
  • Lakeland College (U.S)
  • Makerere University (Uganda)
  • Meredith College, NC
  • Michigan State University, MI
  • MIT, MA
  • Montana University, MT
  • McGill University (Canada)
  • Miami University, OH (U.S)
  • Mt. Holyoke College (U.S)
  • Northwestern University (U.S)
  • Oberlin Univerity, OH
  • Ohio State University, OH
  • Roanoke College (U.S)
  • Reed College, OR
  • Rochester University (U.S)
  • Rutgers University (U.S)
  • Simpson College (U.S)
  • Smith College (U.S)
  • Spelman College (U.S)
  • St. Lawrence University, NY
  • Syracuse University, NY
  • Thomas More College (U.S)
  • University Of California, Berkeley (U.S)
  • University Of Cincinnati (U.S)
  • University Of Toronto, Canada
  • University Of British Columbia, Canada
  • University Of Cape Town, SA
  • University Of Miami (U.S)
  • University Of Pennsylvania (U.S)
  • United States International University (Kenya)
  • Vassar College (U.S)
  • Villanova University (U.S)
  • Whitman College (U.S)
  • Wellesley, MA
  • Westminster College, UT
  • Williams College, MA
  • Xavier University, OH
  • Yale University (U.S)

How to Apply

  • Apply here for Zawadi Ghana. Complete the online application.
  • Download application forms for Kenya, Uganda, and Mozambique. Downloaded and completed forms should be dropped off or mailed to the addresses listed on each form.

For more information, visit Zawadi Africa Fund