Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders 2019

Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders 2019

Deadline: March 26, 2018

Submission of nominations is ongoing for the Martin Ennals Award 2019. The Award is intended for human rights defenders (HRD) who are defending the rights of others, while at risk. This could include physical danger, repressive legal processes, or other forms of harassment. The Martin Ennals Foundation through this award, is looking to provide protection through widespread publicity.

The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders (MEA) is a unique collaboration among ten of the world’s leading human rights organizations. The Award is named after Martin Ennals, a British human rights activist. Ennals served as the Secretary-General of Amnesty International from 1968 to 1980. He went on to help found the British human rights organisation ARTICLE 19, followed by International Alert in 1985. His deep desire was to see more cooperation among NGOs.


  • The award carries a cash prize of 20,000 Swiss francs to be used by the award winners to support their work in the field of human rights.


  • The candidate must be currently active. Please note, posthumous nominations will not be considered;
  • The candidate must be demonstrably at risk;
  • The candidate must work with non-violent means.

Why does the Candidate Merit the Award?

  • The candidate should demonstrate integrity and commitment in the defense of the human rights enshrined in international human rights law;
  • The candidate is working in front-line human rights work in conditions hostile to fundamental human rights;
  • The candidate has consistently demonstrated the determination and courage to continue despite difficulties, threats and lack of local support;
  • The award and the attendant international publicity and recognition are likely to benefit the candidate’s capacity to carry out her/his work;
  • The candidate has an active record of combating human rights violations by innovative/creative means


Click here to nominate

For more information, visit Martin Ennals Award.