World Wildlife Fund (WWF) Russell E. Train Fellowships 2019 (Up to $30,000 funding per year)

World Wildlife Fund (WWF) Russell E. Train Fellowships 2019 (Up to $30,000 funding per year)

Deadline: March 1, 2019

The application for the 2019 Russell E. Train Fellowship is now open. Russell E. Train Fellowships support individuals pursuing a master’s or doctoral degree in conservation-related fields. Each year, WWF supports committed conservationists from target countries to receive financial support for their studies and field research.

To build local capacity in Asia, Africa and Latin America, EFN is offering fellowships to current and aspiring faculty members to enable them to pursue their PhD in conservation-related fields. After completing a degree, the individual must enhance, expand, or establish a graduate-level conservation program at a university in their home country.


Applicants may apply for up to three years of funding and request up to $30,000 per year.


  • You must be a citizen and legal permanent resident of an eligible country.
  • You must have at least two years of conservation-related work or research experience.
  • You must have a demonstrated commitment to working in conservation in an eligible country.
  • Your research or academic program must address one of the focus areas listed in the guidelines.
  • You must be enrolled in, admitted to, or have applied to a master’s or PhD program anywhere in the world.
  • You must plan to begin your studies no later than January 2020.
  • You must commit to working for at least two years in your home country after the completion of your degree.
  • You must not have received a Train Fellowship or Scholarship in the past. Professional Development Grant recipients are eligible to apply.
  • You must notify EFN if you are a WWF employee, consultant, or previous EFN grant recipient.
  • You must submit all required documents by the application deadline (March 1, 2019).

Selection Criteria

Train Fellows are selected through a competitive, merit-based process. An independent, interdisciplinary panel of experts is convened in each country to review applications and to identify the top candidates based on the following criteria:

  • Professional qualifications as evidenced by previous and current conservation-related positions, references from colleagues in the field, publications, and other sources
  • Demonstrated leadership through involvement in community and volunteer activities, the workplace, local and national government, and other areas
  • Prior academic achievement as shown by grades, academic awards, and references from professors
  • Motivation and commitment to contribute to conservation in a participating country and to share what is learned with others in their field and in their home communities
  • Potential impact of proposed study/research on conservation efforts in the home country or region

Eligible Countries

Belize } Bhutan } Bolivia } Cambodia } Cameroon } Central African Republic } Colombia } Democratic Republic of Congo } Ecuador } Fiji } French Guiana } Gabon } Guatemala } Guyana } Honduras } Indonesia } Kenya } Laos } Madagascar } Malaysia } Mozambique } Myanmar } Namibia } Nepal } Papua New Guinea } Paraguay } Peru } Republic of Congo } Solomon Islands } Suriname } Uganda } Vietnam } Zambia E


  • Applicants can apply to attend any university around the world and must return to their home countries to work in conservation for at least two years after completing their degree.
  • Applicants may apply in English, Spanish, French, or Portuguese.

The application deadline is March 1, 2019. For more information, email EFN at [email protected]

Click HERE to access the application.

For more information, visit Russell E. Train Fellowships.