British Council’s ELTons Awards for Innovation in English language Teaching 2019

British Council’s ELTons Awards for Innovation in English language Teaching 2019

Deadline: November 2, 2018

The call for applications for the ELTons Innovation Awards 2019 is now open. The British Council is looking for the latest and most innovative resources to learn and teach English, across the full breadth of media (non-digital or digital) and from a wide variety of contexts worldwide.

Now in their seventeenth year, the ELTons celebrate the most original courses, publications, projects, apps and platforms, and more, which are finding new ways to help English language learners and teachers around the world achieve their goals. The awards also recognise the organisations, teams and individuals whose original approaches are helping to shape the future of English language teaching and learning.

Have you produced an English language teaching or learning product, publication, or service that is both functional and innovative in the last two years? This is for you!

If you’re an educator in a low-resource context, a member of an international team or organisation – large or small – or an author or entrepreneur flying solo, they want to hear from you. If you’ve been involved in the creation of new resources in support of high quality English language education in the last two years, make your submission to the ELTons Innovation Awards 2019.

Award Categories

  1. Excellence in course innovation – Courses using a fresh variety of content, formats or media, to help learners achieve stretching levels of English language proficiency.
  2. Innovation in teacher resources – Resources supporting English language teaching professionals, whether through teacher training, education, or continuing professional development.
  3. Innovation in learner resources – Services, activities, materials or works using innovative means to improve English language learners’ proficiency in vocabulary, grammar, fluency, receptive and productive skills, or vital language skills for study, life and/or work.
  4. Digital innovation – Use of digital technology or media – cutting edge technologies, or original use of existing technology – to benefit high-quality English language learning.
  5. Local innovation (in partnership with Cambridge Assessment English) – Resources or projects innovating to meet specific, local needs, within local, national or regional contexts around the world.


Those successful in becoming an ELTons finalist will be notified in April 2019 and receive an invitation to join guests from across international English language education, at the highly anticipated ELTons Awards ceremony, hosted in London (UK), in June 2019.


The British Council is committed to making sure the ELTons Innovation Awards are inclusive and reflect the broad diversity of English language education around the world.

They welcome and encourage applications from all backgrounds, including from:

  • Those who speak English as a second or other language.
  • Diverse nationalities and ethnicities.
  • Low-resource as well as better resourced contexts.
  • Across the regional/rural and urban divide.
  • Disabled applicants, as well as those developing resources for disabled learners and teachers.
  • They also wish to see good gender balance among applicants.


Make your application using the form below. Full information on award categories and eligibility, as well as the application and judging processes can be found the accompanying guidance.

Following submission of your entry (by the deadline of Friday 2 November 2018) applications go through a rigorous, three-round judging process to assess the functional and innovative aspects of each submission. The expert panels of judges work independently, individually and behind closed doors, using the Delphi method, meaning that even judges will not know the winners until the awards ceremony in June 2019.

To apply, download the following:

For more information, visit ELTons Innovation Awards.