NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature 2019 ($100,000 prize)

NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature 2019 ($100,000 prize)

Deadline: April 5, 2019

Entries are hereby invited for The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2019. The yearly literature prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years. The prize rotates among four literary genres- prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year, the competition is for Children’s Literature.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature is aimed at bringing Nigerian authors to public attention and celebrating excellence in literary accomplishments in the nation. With The Nigeria Prize for Literature, it is expected that the quest for a prestigious prize will improve the quality of writing, editing, proof-reading, and publishing in the country with far-reaching positive effect on print and broadcast journalism.


  • The prize comes with a reward of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100,000.00).


  • Open to only Nigerian writers irrespective of their place of residence.

Submission Procedures

  • Ten copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National Identity card), may be submitted either by author or publisher, in accordance with the genres in competition. Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limited’s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline.
  • Failure to meet the stated conditions will lead to disqualification of the entry.
  • No book published before January, 2015 will be accepted.
  • Complete contact information, including full contact address, email(s), phone number(s) and other relevant contact information should accompany each submission.
  • An author will enter only one published work. Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • No member of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years thereafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG staff and their families.


Entries shall be sent to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division,
Intels Aba Road Estate,
Km 16, Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway,
P.M.B 5660, Port Harcourt,
Rivers State, Nigeria.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
4 Floor, Heron House, th
10 Dean Farrar Street,
London, SW1H 0DX.

Email: [email protected]

For more information, visit Nigeria Prize for Literature.