DHET Future Professors Programme 2021/2022 for Early-career Academics in South Africa

DHET Future Professors Programme 2021/2022 for Early-career Academics in South Africa

Deadline: July 31, 2020

Applications are invited for the DHET Future Professors Programme 2020/2021. This is the second Call for the Future Professors Programme (FPP), a competitive and selective programme of the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) to prepare promising early career academics to become a new cohort of South African professors across the disciplines.

The programme seeks to identify a group of the country’s most talented young academics to benefit from a structured and intense programme aimed at accelerating their readiness for the professoriate. Thus, it aims to produce a critical mass of academic excellence and leadership within South African Higher Education.

The programme includes three core components: a residential series of seminars; a baseline evaluation which will help each scholar understand their standing in the discipline and propose trajectories for future development; and international engagement appropriate to the scholar’s particular intellectual project.


  • Open to early-career academics in South Africa. Academics preferably – but not exclusively – in the lecturer and senior lecturer categories in South African public universities, may be nominated by their universities.
  • Applicants should hold a doctorate and already boast a track-record of some academic achievement that would signal advancement to the senior ranks of the academy;
  • A deep commitment to the pursuit of advanced scholarship.
  • Evidence of productive and imaginative scholarly work.
  • Early signs of purpose and direction in academic work.
  • Novelty, richness and a willingness to take risks in the pursuit of large ideas.
  • Personal qualities of self-awareness, teachability and the need to grow.
  • Evidence of resilience and persistence in the face of setbacks.
  • A willingness to benefit from and contribute to a community of scholars.


Documentation required for submission:

  1. A curriculum vitae including the following information:
    • Name and date of birth.
    • Contact details (work and cell phone) as well as preferred email address.
    • Educational history (including the title of PhD thesis, the year received [use date of graduation ceremony not submission of thesis], the university that awarded the degree and the name/s of supervisor/s).
    • Employment history (including the department where you currently serve and the name of your head of department).
    • Publication record (including papers submitted/accepted and where).
    • Research projects and funding you might have generated for your projects to date.
    • Current teaching and supervisory responsibilities (distinguish undergraduate and postgraduate).
    • Google Scholar H-Index and Scopus H-Index, if pertinent (some fields in the humanities, for example, don’t make use of this metric).
  2. A two-page evidence-based submission explaining how you meet the attributes listed above. This submission should include a commitment from the scholar to participate fully in the programme, if selected.
  3. Contact details of three referees.
  4. The application will be accompanied by an institutional nomination completed by your University’s designated authority, addressed to the Project Leader, Professor Jonathan Jansen.

Applications should be submitted electronically no later than July 31, 2020 to the office of the designated authority of your University. For the name of the designated authority, you can contact the FPP project officer, Ms Zinia Bunyula via e-mail: [email protected]

Each university may nominate only five candidates and these nominations will be accompanied by an institutional support letter from the designated authority.

For more information, visit DHET Future Professors Programme.