J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards 2022 (up to $25,000)

J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards 2022 (up to $25,000)

Deadline: December 9, 2021

Applications for the J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards 2022 are now open. The J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards is one of the J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards.

Established in 1998, the J. Anthony Lukas Prize Project Awards recognize excellence in nonfiction that exemplifies the literary grace and commitment to serious research and social concern that characterized the work of the awards’ Pulitzer Prize-winning namesake, J. Anthony Lukas, who died in 1997.

Two J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Awards are given annually to aid in the completion of significant works of nonfiction on topics of American political or social concern. Recognizing that a nonfiction book based on extensive research often overtaxes the resources available to its author, the project envisions the Awards as a way of closing the gap between the time and money an author has and the time and money that finishing a book requires.


  • The Awards are in the amount of $25,000.


  • Applicants for the award must already have a contract with a U.S.-based publisher to write a nonfiction book.
  • The judges will make their decision on the basis of trying to achieve maximum impact on a promising book project. Therefore, their selection criteria will represent a blend of the merit of the book and the financial need of the author. For this reason, the judges will need to know the amount of the author’s advance, as well as any other financial support for the book, such as a grant.


Materials required for entry:

  • Completed entry form
  • A copy of the original book proposal
  • 50-75 pages from the work-in-progress
  • Photocopy of a contract with a publisher
  • An explanation of how the award will advance the progress of the book in a PDF format.

Click here to apply

For more information, visit Work-In-Progress Awards.