8th Wole Soyinka Awards for Investigative Reporting

Deadline: October 25, 2013

The Wole Syinka Center for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) invites entries from professional journalists across Nigeria for the 8th Wole Soyinka Awards for Investigative Reporting. The award will reward and honour the works of outstanding Nigerian journalists whose news stories expose corruption, regulatory failures and human rights abuses in public and private spheres of the country in the print, radio, television, photo, online, climate change, local government, sports, health and editorial cartoon categories. The overall judges will be looking for ethical journalistic courage, individual creativity and public benefit.


The Award is open to any Nigerian professional journalist or team of journalists (full time or freelancers), 18years and above, who have produced a published story whether through print or electronic media (television; radio or online) primarily targeted at and received by a Nigerian audience.


  1. Print
  2. Climate change
  3. Radio
  4. Local government
  5. Television
  6. Health
  7. Photography
  8. Editorial Cartoon
  9. Online
  10. Sports


  • The main criterion for eligibility is that the work (single work or single-subject serial) involves reporting on public or corporate corruption, human rights violation, or on the failure of regulatory agencies.
  • The story (whether electronic, print, virtual, visual or graphic) should reflect high quality of investigation in terms of newsworthiness, capacity to expose or prevent corruption in the public domain and an understanding of human rights implications of the story. Such works should have been first published or broadcast in a Nigerian media between 4 October, 2012 and 3 October, 2013.


  • All submitted works must be in English language
  • Entry is free
  • To enhance the development of journalism in the country, journalists that have been winners in this competition on three or more occasions will be ineligible to enter
  • Employees of the Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism and/or their immediate families are ineligible to participate in the competition
  • Applicants may only submit a maximum of two entries across categories
  • The journalist with the most outstanding work(s) amongst the finalists will be selected as the WSCIJ-Nigerian Investigative Journalist of the year
  • Entering for this competition commits you to grant WSCIJ a worldwide, perpetual, royalty free licence to use your works for any purpose deemed appropriate for the development of the award initiative, the Centre and the media
  • WSCIJ guarantees that there is absolutely no connection between any sponsor and the judging process despite possible sponsorship of some categories of the award. The winning works are known to only the judges’ board until the awards presentation ceremony
  • The Competition shall be covered and interpreted with the laws of Nigeria

For more information, click here.