2015-2016 Civil Society Leadership Awards for Master’s Degree Study

2015-2016 Civil Society Leadership Awards for Master’s Degree Study

Deadline: December 15, 2014

The Open Society Foundations Scholarship Programs is pleased to announce the Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) for the 2015-2016 academic year. The Awards provide fully funded master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

CSLA directly assists future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development. Awards are available for master’s degree study in the following fields at universities participating in the CSLA program:

  • Development Studies;
  • Public Health & Health Management;
  • Education Management & Leadership;
  • Law & Human Rights;
  • Public Policy & Administration;
  • Environment & Natural Resource Management;
  • Social Work & Social Policy;
  • Politics & International Studies;
  • Other select Humanities & Social Sciences.

Please see the accompanying guidelines for a full list of eligible fields of study at participating universities.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country;
  • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential;
  • Have excellent academic records and an earned bachelor’s degree before applying;
  • Have proficiency in the language of instruction (English or French) at the desired university program, as evidenced by standardized language test scores;
  • Be able to participate in an intensive academic writing program in July or August 2015 and start their degree program in August or September 2015;
  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country; and
  • Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development.

CSLA does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability.

The awards are available to citizens of the following countries:

  • Azerbaijan;
  • Belarus;
  • Cambodia;
  • Democratic Republic of Congo;
  • Egypt;
  • Equatorial Guinea;
  • Eritrea;
  • Ethiopia;
  • Laos;
  • Libya;
  • Republic of Congo;
  • South Sudan;
  • Sudan;
  • Syria;
  • Turkmenistan;
  • Uzbekistan.

Selection Criteria

Competition for CSLA scholarships is open and merit-based. Selection is based on an applicant’s fit with the program’s objectives as well the graduate admissions criteria of the participating universities. Academic excellence, professional aptitude, leadership potential in the field of specialization, proven commitment to open society values, and appropriate language proficiency are all important factors in evaluation.

How to Apply

All applicants are strongly encouraged to apply for the CSLA scholarship online. Please register for the online application form, then follow the instructions.

Please note that some universities require a separate application for graduate study at that institution. In these cases, OSF will notify candidates and assist with the university application process.

For more information, visit Civil Society Leadership Awards.