Aga Khan International Scholarship for Postgraduate Studies 2015/16

Aga Khan International Scholarship for Postgraduate Studies 2015/16

Deadline: March 27, 2015 (Varies)

The application cycle for the Aga Khan International Scholarship Programme is now open. The Aga Khan Foundation provides a limited number of scholarships each year for postgraduate studies to outstanding students from select developing countries who have no other means of financing their studies, in order to develop effective scholars and leaders and to prepare them for employment, primarily within the AKDN.

Scholarship Value

Scholarships are awarded on a 50% grant : 50% loan basis through a competitive application process once a year in June or July. The Foundation gives priority to requests for Master’s level courses but is willing to consider applications for PhD programmes, only in the case of outstanding students who are highly recommended for doctoral studies by their professors and who need a PhD for the fulfillment of their career objectives (academic or research oriented).

Financial Assistance

  • The Foundation assists students with tuition fees and living expenses only.
  • The cost of travel is not included in AKF scholarships.
  • Funding for PhD programmes is only provided for the first two years of study, after which the students are expected to find alternative sources of assistance.
  • Financial assistance is provided according to the needs of students, but the ISP must be considered a lender of last resort.
  • Applicants are requested to make every effort to obtain funding from other sources as well, so that the amount requested from the Foundation can be reduced to a minimum.
  • Preference is given to those who have been able to secure some funding from alternative sources.


  • Preference is given to students under 30 years of age.
  • The Foundation accepts applications from nationals of the following countries: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Syria, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Madagascar and Mozambique. In France, Portugal, UK, USA and Canada, applications are accepted from those who are originally from one of the above developing countries, are interested in development-related studies and who have no other means of financing their education.
  • The Foundation only accepts applications of eligible nationals listed above who are residing in one of the countries where there are local Aga Khan Foundation (AKF), Aga Khan Education Services (AKES), or Aga Khan Education Board (AKEB) offices which process applications and interview candidates.

The main criteria for selecting award winners are:

  1. consistently excellent academic records
  2. genuine financial need
  3. admission to a highly reputable university or programme of study
  4. relevance of the field of study to AKDN’s focus areas

Candidates are also evaluated on

  • demonstrating thoughtful and coherent educational and career plans
  • their extra-curricular interests and achievements
  • potential to achieve their goals
  • likelihood to succeed in a foreign academic environment

Applicants are expected to have some years of work experience in their field of interest.

For more information, visit Aga Khan International Scholarship Programme.