Victor J. Goldberg Prize for Peace in the Middle East 2016 ($10,000 award)

Victor J. Goldberg Prize for Peace in the Middle East 2016 ($10,000 award)

Deadline: February 1, 2016

The Institute of International Education (IIE) is now accepting nominations for the 2016 Goldberg Prize for Peace in the Middle East. The Prize is awarded annually to recognize outstanding work being conducted jointly by two individuals, one Israeli Jew and one Arab Muslim, whether or not a citizen of Israel, working together to advance the cause of peace in the Middle East.

The two individuals whose work is judged to be most successful in bringing people together and breaking down the barriers of hatred toward “the other” share a $10,000 prize.

Goals of the Prize

  • To advance the cause of peace in the Middle East
  • To bring people together across religious, cultural, ethnic, and political divides
  • To break down barriers of hate towards “the other”
  • To recognize innovation and reward those who are courageous and committed enough to work to overcome the religious, cultural, ethnic and political issues which divide the region
  • To inspire others in the U.S. and the Middle East
  • To motivate current and future IIE grantees to work toward peace in the Middle East


  • To be eligible for the Prize, at least one of the nominated individuals must be an alumna/us of any program administered by the Institute of International Education (IIE), or any exchange program funded by any of IIE’s sponsors and administered by another organization. See a list of selected IIE sponsors and partners.
  • Alumni of the following IIE-administered programs, among others, are encouraged to apply:
    • Fulbright Programs
    • Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowships
    • International Visitor Leadership Program
    • State Department Middle East Partnership Initiative
    • Scholar Rescue Fund (SRF)
    • Ford Foundation International Fellowship Program®
    • Ford Foundation Global Travel and Learning Fund
    • Training programs funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development
  • Fulbright alumni and alumni of the Israel Arab Scholarship Program whose grants were administered by AMIDEAST are also eligible.
  • Individuals who came to the United States under funding from the Ford Foundation or as part of the International Visitor Leadership Program are eligible even if they were participating in a program coordinated by another organization.


Nominations may be submitted by the individuals themselves or by a third party.


For more information, visit the Goldberg IIE Prize.