Call for Submissions – Best of Online Activism (The Bobs) Awards 2016

Call for Submissions – Best of Online Activism (The Bobs) Awards 2016

Deadline: March 3, 2016

Submit your online media for a chance to win a prize at Deutsche Welle’s Bob Awards 2016. This includes blogs, podcasts, social network profiles, platforms and projects.

All submissions are presented to an international and independent jury who, with the help of Deutsche Welle staff, will create a list of nominees that will be presented on March 31.  All the winners of The Bobs 2016 will be announced in Berlin in early May and a ceremony for the winners of the Awards will take place on June 14 in Bonn, Germany, as part of the Deutsche Welle Global Media Forum.


Competition Categories

There are four multilingual categories:

  • Social Change – This category honors projects that effectively promote socially relevant issues, such as education, equality, economic development, health and climate protection to name just a few. The winner here uses digital advances to have a positive influence on the world and push for social change.
  • Tech for Good – Data protection, freedom of information and promoting open content are at the heart of cyberculture. Whether it’s using apps, software, online services, informative websites, this category puts the focus on protecting privacy, online security and data protection. This category is also open to other innovative tools, such as projects that help people fight corruption and circumvent censorship.
  • Arts and Culture – This category will honor artistic and cultural projects that do an exceptional job of using digital communications to convey their own interpretation of socially relevant issues.
  • Citizen Journalism – This award salutes the people engaging in courageous journalism and creating innovative projects that explore and explain complex issues and create counterpublics. Special attention will be given to projects and websites that take advantage of all forms of online participation.

There are also 14 language-specific categories and a Freedom of Speech Award whose winner is selected by DW’s board of directors.. Further details can be found on the Bobs Awards website.



Everything submitted to The Bobs has to be in one of the contest’s 14 languages: Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish and Ukrainian.

How to Apply

Simply create an account on the Bobs website and nominate your project online.

For more information, visit The Bobs Awards 2016 page.