UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2018 ($25,000 Award)

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2018 ($25,000 Award)

Deadline: February 15, 2018

UNESCO invites nominations for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize. This Prize was established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. Its purpose is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.


Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

The Prize is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia) and the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland).


  • Nominations are only invited from a UNESCO Member State, international or regional professional organization and non-governmental organization
  • Nominating entities must be working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression


Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2018 by post or by email to:

Ms Sylvie Coudray
Section for Freedom of Expression
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Communication and Information Sector
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris


E-mail: [email protected].

For more information, visit World Press Freedom Prize.