Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for Journalism in Development 2018 (Win a trip to Brussels + EUR5,000)

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for Journalism in Development 2018 (Win a trip to Brussels + EUR5,000)

Deadline: March 9, 2018

Applications for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for outstanding journalism in development are now open! Through this prize the European Commission recognises the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world. The Natali prize will acknowledge outstanding reporting on development issues and applications are open for online, print or audio-visual works. Journalists from around the world are invited to apply.

It will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, as outlined in the new European Consensus for Development. The Consensus is an ambitious vision for the EU institutions and Member States’ development policy, which calls for better coordination and coherence in support of peace, the planet, people, prosperity and partnerships.


  • Theme 1 – Development: Entries must address issues on development in the developing world.
  • Theme 2 – Eliminate violence against women and girls: For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize shall award a special prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls. Entries for the special prize can be made by journalists from any of the five regions mentioned above.


Two categories of applicants will be identified:

  • Junior journalists (between 21 and 26 years old on 9 March 2018)
  • Senior journalists (above 27 years old on 9 March 2018).

For each category there will be a winner from each region: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; and Europe.


A “Grand Winner” will be selected from among the regional winners, and an additional thematic prize will be awarded for work focused on the elimination of violence against women and girls.

  • Two winners (junior and senior) will be awarded per region (1.Africa 2.Arab World and the Middle East 3.Asia and the Pacific 4.Latin America and the Caribbean 5.Europe). They will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.
  • A Grand Prize will be awarded in addition to one of the winners.
  • The Grand Prize winner will receive additional trophy and EUR 5 000.
  • A Special Thematic Prize will award the best entry focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls. The winner will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.

Winners will receive their awards at a ceremony during the 2018 European Development Days in Brussels this June.


  • The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:
    • Africa
    • Arab World and the Middle East
    • Asia and the Pacific
    • Latin America and the Caribbean
    • Europe
  • The entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in one of the five above-mentioned regions.
  • The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
  • Laureates cannot compete again for the Prize the year following their award, but are eligible for subsequent editions.
    Journalistic works submitted by current members of staff of the European Union institutions, people involved in the pre-selection process, the jury or MC-Phrenos will not be considered. These people can enter the contest three years after leaving their position.
  • Entries are accepted in all languages. However a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries, that are not written in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages.
  • Submitted entries are subject to length limitation. Text based entries must be maximum 1500 words long. Video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.


The evaluation will be based on the following criteria:

  • Relevance – relevance to the theme; focus and significance
  • Originality of approach – methodology, innovativeness;
  • Investigative depth – in-depth investigation, resources put in, accuracy, factual reporting;
  • Quality of work – writing, structure, language, clearly stated conclusion;
  • Added value – challenging the status quo, having a big scope etc.


Journalists are invited to submit their work in any format, i.e. published online, print, radio or TV broadcast.

For more information, visit Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.