Global Pluralism Award 2019 for Individuals and Organizations Worldwide ($50,000 CAD Prize)

Global Pluralism Award 2019 for Individuals and Organizations Worldwide ($50,000 CAD Prize)

Deadline: April 30, 2018

The Global Centre for Pluralism invites entries for the 2019 Global Pluralism Award. The Award recognizes individuals and organizations championing respect for diversity and inclusion around the world. Through their remarkable achievements, Award winners are contributing in innovative and high-impact ways to building societies where diversity is respected and valued.

The Global Pluralism Award recognizes pluralism in action. It celebrates the extraordinary achievements of organizations, individuals and governments who are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity. Beyond public recognition and a monetary prize, the Award aims to raise the profile of pluralism champions globally, inspire action and motivate a broader community to innovate in their respective fields of practice.

Do you know a pluralism champion? Nominate or apply online today!


Three Award winners will be selected by an independent, international Jury chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada.

  • Each recipient will receive $50,000 CAD to further their work.
  • Additional in-kind assistance may be provided, including engagements in each recipient’s country to raise the profile of their achievements.
  • The Award will be presented in 2019 at the international headquarters of the Global Centre for Pluralism in Ottawa, Canada.


  • Individuals, businesses, academics, civil society and government bodies from around the world, both developing and developed are eligible for the Award.
  • Eligible nominees from all countries are eligible, including:
    • individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
    • civil society organizations (e.g. professional associations, faith-based organizations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
    • social enterprises;
    • corporations;
    • educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
    • local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc.
  • Nominees must be living. The Award cannot be given posthumously.
  • Nominees must not be an agency or employee of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network.
  • Nominees must not be members of the jury, the Centre’s Board or staff or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Close relations and organizations owned or operated by the jury, Screening Committee, the Centre’s Board members and staff are also non-eligible.
  • Individuals and organizations nominated for the Award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities; or have publicly held extremist views
  • Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include:
    • legal reform
    • human rights
    • democracy promotion,
    • social cohesion
    • education
    • ethnic relations
    • conflict resolution
    • peacebuilding
    • migration and integration

    Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list.



For more information, visit Global Pluralism Award.