Jacana Media Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology 2018 (R25,000 prize)

Jacana Media Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology 2018 (R25,000 prize)

Deadline: August 31, 2018

Entries are invited for the Jacana Media Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology 2018. This is an award and anthology on the topics of gender, human rights and sexuality, for writers and photographers across Africa. The unique and vital anthology will feature English language writing and photography from and about Africa. Exceptional works which explore, interrogate and celebrate the topics of gender, sexuality and human rights will be longlisted and published in a Granta-like anthology.

Created in honour of Gerald Kraak’s extraordinary legacy, this new annual award is made possible in partnership with The Other Foundation, and will advance Gerald’s contribution to building a society that is safe and welcoming to all.


Entries may be submitted in the following categories:

  • Fiction
  • Non-fiction
  • Poetry
  • Photography


  • The winner is awarded R25,000 and publication by Jacana Media and its publishing partners.


  • Entries must have been created by a citizen of an African country. Written submissions must be in English;
  • Up to three entries are permitted per author, across categories. Each entry must be submitted on a separate electronic entry form;
  • Submissions must be in English and from Africa.

Entry Requirements

  • Please number your pages, use a font size of 12, Times New Roman and 1.5 spacing (avoid unnecessary formatting, such as borders);
  • Materials must not exceed 15 000 words or 8 images;
  • Images must be 300 dpi high resolution;
  • Images will be published in an image section on matte art paper and not in the body of the text;
  • They are looking for work which tells a story or illustrates an idea. If one photograph achieves this, then they welcome the submission of that single image. It is, however, more likely to be accomplished through a collection of photographs or a photographic essay;
  • They accept unpublished as well as previously published works:
  • No handwritten or hard copy entries can be considered. Submissions must be made via the online portal;
  • Entrants’ name should not be included on the manuscript being submitted, as the award is judged blind and the author remains anonymous until the shortlist has been selected;
  • There is an opportunity to use a pseudonym should one be required.


Click here to submit your application

For more information, visit Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology.