BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2021 (up to 400,000 Euros)

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2021 (up to 400,000 Euros)

Deadline: June 30, 2021

Applications are open for the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards 2021. The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards recognize fundamental contributions in a broad array of areas of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities and artistic creation.

The disciplines and domains of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are:

  • Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  • Biology and Biomedicine
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Ecology and Conservation Biology
  • Climate Change
  • Economics, Finance and Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Music and Opera

The Climate Change award recognizes both research endeavors in confronting this challenge and impactful actions informed by the best science. In Humanities and Social Sciences, the award will alternate annually between these two disciplinary domains, with this fourteenth edition dedicated to the Social Sciences. Finally, the Music and Opera category encompasses composition, instrumental and vocal performance, musical and stage direction, and video art creation associated with musical or operatic works.


  • The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards consist of 400,000 Euros, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each of their eight categories.
  • In the event that an award is shared by more than one person, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all recipients.
  • All awards, in whatever category, will be subject to the withholding and other taxes prescribed by current legislation, which will be deducted from their total amount.


  • Candidates may be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number, that have made independent or convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration (with the nominees belonging to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • The awards are also open to scientific or cultural organizations that can be collectively credited with exceptional contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the fight against climate change.
  • Awards may not be granted posthumously.


The nomination period will close at 23:00 GMT on June 30, 2021. Both nominations and the accompanying documentation must be submitted in English only.

The nominating institution or individual must provide the following information and documentation:

  • Award category for which the candidate is nominated.
  • Name of the nominating institution and officer/body, with the corresponding contact data (postal and email address, plus landline and cell phone numbers).
  • Letter of nomination signed by the nominating officer/body.
  • Candidate particulars including institutional affiliation and contact data.
  • Description of the salient contributions of the candidate and reasoned arguments for the nomination (maximum of three pages, single spaced).
  • Candidate’s curriculum vitae.

Click here to nominate

For more information, see FAQs and visit BBVA Foundation.