UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Conservation 2021 (Up to $100,000)

UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Conservation 2021 (Up to $100,000)

Deadline: July 15, 2021

Nominations for the UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Conservation 2021 are open. The UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Conservation is a biennial award “to afford recognition to outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment, consistent with the policies, aims and objectives of UNESCO, and in relation to the Organization’s programs in this field”.

Candidates must have made an outstanding contribution in one of the following fields:

  • Environmental and natural resources research;
  • Environmental education and training;
  • Creation of environmental awareness through the preparation of environmental information materials;
  • Establishment and management of protected areas, such as biosphere reserves and natural World Heritage site.


  • The Prize consists of a diploma and a financial reward of US$100,000 and it is awarded during the World Science Forum.


  • Nominations for the Prize can only be made by UNESCO Members States with consultation of their National Commissions, and by Non-Governmental Organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO, and active in relevant fields covered by the Prize.
  • Other interested NGOs, research institutions, universities and individuals, are not eligible to make nominations directly to UNESCO. Therefore, such bodies and individuals are invited to propose their candidate to their country National Commission for UNESCO, which may or may not select it as its formal candidature.
  • Candidatures should be prepared in English or French. Self-nominations cannot be considered.


Nomination should be sent to: Director, Division of Ecological and Earth Sciences, UNESCO, 1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris cedex 15, France, [email protected] , cc: [email protected] before July 15, 2021.

Download the nomination form in English or French

For more information, visit UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize.