2013 Orange Prize for African Social Venture Start-ups

Deadline: September 20, 2013

Orange is pleased to announce and invite applications from individuals and companies for the third edition of the Orange Prize for Social Ventures in Africa 2013. The Orange Prize for African Venture will reward three projects or new businesses offering solutions based on information technology (using the Internet or mobile) to support the the poorest people in Africa. The ceremony awards will take place at the prestigious AfricaCom Awards ceremony in Cape Town on 13 November 2013.

With its presence in 18 countries in Africa, Orange seeks to contribute to economic and social development of all these countries. It also aims to promote the development of enterprises and start-ups that use ICT to meet the needs of people in Africa.

The Prize

The three candidates who meet the criteria and have managed to seduce the jury will be awarded:

  • 1st prize: € 25 000
  • 2nd prize: 15,000 euros,
  • 3rd prize: 10 000 euros
  • In addition, each prize winner will receive  support from professional entrepreneurs and ICT experts for a period of six months.
  • The project submitted by the winner of the first prize will be patented by Orange in the country where it is deployed.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any entrepreneur aged 21 years and above, who could be a student, employee or contractor, regardless of nationality; OR any company in business since June 2010, can apply for this award.
  • Companies or projects submitted must include the deployment of services in at least one of the African countries where Orange operates.
  • The heart of their activity must involve technology in innovative ways to help improve the living conditions of people in Africa.
  • There is no nationality requirement, only the projects themselves must be located in one of 18 countries where Orange is present in Africa and should really help to improve the lives of African people.

The 18 African countries where the project should be implemented are Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Guinea Equatorial Guinea, the Central African Republic, Uganda, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Botswana and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Read the Guidelines carefully before applying.

For more information, click here.