2014 One World Media Awards – Sponsored by Transparency International

2014 One World Media Awards – Sponsored by Transparency International

Deadline: May 6, 2014

The One World Media is now accepting entries for the next edition of the One World Media Awards. Are you a news reporter? As part of your reporting, do you report also on corruption? If so, then apply for the One World Media Awards. The awards reward excellence in international media coverage and recognise the unique role of journalists and film makers in increasing cultural understanding and promoting fairness and justice worldwide.

The global anti-corruption organisation Transparency International is pleased to announce its sponsorship of the Transparency International Corruption Reporting Award, a new award, as part of the One World Media Awards 2014. The Corruption Reporting Award is for all media that cover any aspect of corruption, including investigative reports and features that show the effects of corruption on individuals or society.

Award Categories

The One World Media Awards span 13 categories, celebrating work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres.

  • In 2014, two new categories will be launched: the Corruption Reporting Award, sponsored by Transparency International, and the Short Film Award.
  • Documentary
  • Digital Media
  • New Voice
  • Student
  • Short Film
  • Television
  • Radio
  • News
  • Press
  • Journalist of the Year
  • Popular Features
  • Special
  • Corruption Reporting


  • All entries should be concerned with some aspect of social, political or cultural life in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States.
  • Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories from the wider world or new angles and approaches to more well-reported stories.
  • All categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the entry has been printed, broadcast or screened either in the UK OR printed, broadcast or screened internationally for a global audience (ie. at an international film festival or in established print and online outlets).
  • All work submitted for the Awards must have been first published, broadcast or screened between 29th January 2013 and 29th January 2014.

Selection Criteria

Jurors will evaluate each entry based on the overall merit of the piece, with an emphasis on:

  • Engaging treatment of the issue(s)
  • Interpretation of the issue(s)
  • Substance of the coverage
  • Inclusivity
  • Originality and creativity of the coverage
  • Impact of the coverage

For more information, click here.