2014 Youth Journalism Contest and Award

2014 Youth Journalism Contest and Award

Deadline: February 7, 2014

Youth Journalism International is now accepting applications for the 2014 Youth Journalism Contest, to spotlight some of the exceptional journalism done by students across the globe. The aim is that by calling attention to the best work in English by student reporters, cartoonists and photographers, a free youth press can be promoted. It is yet another way to showcase the voices of the next generation. This year’s student journalism contest will recognize outstanding work published between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013.


  1. STUDENT JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR: To honor the student journalist who shows exceptional work in one or more areas of journalism – news, feature and opinion writing, photography and art.
  2. JOURNALISM EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR: To honor a teacher who inspires students and brings out the very best in them.
  3. COURAGE IN JOURNALISM AWARD: To honor an individual youth journalist, journalism educator or a student newspaper that showed particular courage in pursuing a story despite danger, official roadblocks or other unusual obstacles.
  4. JACINTA MARIE BUNNELL AWARD FOR COMMENTARY: To honor an individual who gave voice to an important issue in a single opinion piece or a series of opinion pieces devoted to the same topic.
  5. FRANK KEEGAN “TAKE NO PRISONERS” AWARD FOR NEWS: To honor an individual who shows tenacity in tackling one or more serious news stories.


  • Any journalist age 19 or under in any country who was not working professionally at the time the entry was published is eligible.
  • Although entries must have been published online or in print, it is not required that they appeared in a school publication.
  • Underground papers, blogs, online papers and other venues for journalism are all acceptable.
  • In each category, nominations may come from teachers, students or other third parties.
  • Previous first place winners are not eligible to enter the category again, but previous finalists may enter.
  • Self-nominations are acceptable, though letters of support are especially encouraged in the Student Journalist of the Year, Courage in Journalism and Journalism Educator of the Year categories.

First place winners in each category will receive a beautiful crystal trophy.

For more information, click here.