2015 AWARD Fellowships for African Women

2015 AWARD Fellowships for African Women

Deadline: August 8, 2014

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) is seeking 70 top African women agricultural scientists from 11 countries for its 2015 fellowships. AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills, through two-year fellowships.

Now in its seventh year, AWARD is offering 70 fellowships on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to help improve food security and the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers, especially women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.


  • Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia
  • Applicants must be resident in Africa throughout the fellowship period.
  • Applicants should have completed a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in one of the disciplines listed below, or other agriculture-related fields, are eligible to apply.
    • Agricultural economics
    • Agricultural engineering
    • Agronomy
    • Animal and livestock sciences
    • Aquatic resources and fisheries
    • Biodiversity conservation
    • Crop science
    • Ecology
    • Entomology
    • Extension education
    • Food science and nutrition Forestry and agroforestry
    • Horticulture
    • Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
    • Natural resources management
    • Plant/animal virology
    • Soil science
    • Veterinary sciences
    • Water and irrigation management
    • Other

NOTE: Successful candidates must be available to attend one of three five-day AWARD Mentoring Orientation Workshops, to be held in Kenya. Dates to be announced.

AWARD is supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the United States Agency for International Development, and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa.

For more information, visit 2015 AWARD Fellowship.