Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017 (Prize Money up to £15,000)

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017 (Prize Money up to £15,000)

Deadline: November 1, 2016

Submit entries for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017. The Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) in English written by a citizen of a Commonwealth country. The Commonwealth Short Story Prize brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience.

The international judging panel comprises one judge from each of the five regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Please note that while the entries will be judged regionally, all judges will read and deliberate on entries from all regions. Entry is always free and stories translated into English are also eligible.


  • Five winning writers from five different Commonwealth regions share a total prize money of £15,000. The overall winner receives £5,000, one of the highest amounts for an international short story prize open to unpublished writers. Regional winners receive £2,500.


  • Open to entrants from Commonwealth countries;
  • Short stories translated into English from other languages are also eligible;
  • Writers from Mozambique who write in Portuguese, and writers who write in Samoan, Swahili and Bengali, and who do not have an English translation of their story can submit their stories in the original language.

See more eligibility here.

Application Process

Submit your entry.

For more information, visit Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2017.