New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships 2017

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships 2017

Deadline: March 30, 2017

The New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships 2017 is now open. The purpose of the scholarship is to promote mutual cooperation and share educational experience among all Commonwealth countries as well as recognise and promote the highest intellectual achievement.

New Zealand Scholarships foster and build future leaders, as well as equipping you with skills and knowledge to benefit your home country. Their scholarships offer top quality education at New Zealand’s world-class tertiary institutes or a major Pacific regional university.


With a New Zealand Scholarship, you’ll get fully funded tuition and other financial benefits, as well as personal and academic support. While studying in New Zealand, you’ll enjoy the benefits of their world-class educational facilities and share in our unique Kiwi lifestyle.

Financial support includes:

  • full tuition fees
  • a fortnightly living allowance – this is a contribution to basic living expenses
  • an establishment allowance – this is a once only payment as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials
  • medical and travel insurance
  • travel to and from your home country – this is for travel from your home country at the start of the scholarship, and for you to return to your home country at the end of your scholarship. Note that we offer our scholarships for the shortest amount of time needed for you to complete the academic programme.
  • home leave or reunion travel for some scholars
  • assistance with research and thesis costs for many postgraduate research students

In return, you’ll undertake to return home to share your knowledge and skills to benefit your country. You’ll also need to fulfil your obligations as a scholarship recipient.


Candidates should be from any of the following counteries:

  • Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.
  • Caribbean: Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines.
  • Asia (other): Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka,
  • Pacific: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.


New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are available for the following postgraduate qualifications:

  • Master’s Degree (1 – 2 years)
  • PhD (up to 3.5 years)

How to Apply

Applications open 15 February and must arrive at your country’s Commonwealth Nominating Agency by 30 March, 2017.

The application process for a New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship is different to other New Zealand Scholarships. Please read the below section carefully before you submit an application.

  • Download and print the Application Form
  • Additional copies may also be available at your local nominating agency or at selected New Zealand High Commissions.
  • Refer to the Application Guidance page on this website for essential information and helpful tips.
  • Complete all sections of the application form, and make sure you have attached the additional documents required.


Nominating agencies will review all applications received and select the two candidates that best meet the eligibility conditions, preference factors and priority sectors for their country. In May, we will contact you via email if you have been nominated.

All shortlisted candidates will be assessed, interviewed and undergo reference checks through the New Zealand Scholarships office.

A final decision will be made by 11 October, 2017. Preferred candidates will be notified and go through the placement process at their selected institution. Once successfully placed, they will officially become New Zealand Commonwealth scholars.

For more information, visit New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships.