AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize 2021 (Up to $25,000)

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize 2021 (Up to $25,000)

Deadline: June 30, 2021

Applications are invited for the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize 2021. The Newcomb Cleveland Prize of the American Association for the Advancement of Science is annually awarded to author of outstanding scientific paper published in the Research Articles or Reports sections of Science.

The Association’s oldest award, the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, supported by The Fodor Family Trust, was established in 1923 with funds donated by Newcomb Cleveland of New York City and was originally called the AAAS Thousand Dollar Prize. It is now known as the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize.


  • The value of the prize is US$25,000.
  • In addition to the prize funds, the winner receives a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting in order to accept the prize.


  • The prize is awarded to the author or authors of an outstanding paper published in the Research Articles or Reports sections of Science. Each annual contest starts with the first issue of June and ends with the last issue of the following May.
  • An eligible paper is one that includes original research data, theory, or synthesis; is a fundamental contribution to basic knowledge or is a technical achievement of far-reaching consequence; and is a first-time publication of the author’s own work. Reference to pertinent earlier work by the author may be included to give perspective.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.


Throughout the year, readers of Science are invited to nominate papers appearing in the Research Articles or Reports sections.

Nominations must be submitted in the online form by June 30.

For more information, visit AAAS Prize.