The 2013 Yara Prize: Nominations Invited

Deadline: May 3, 2013

Nominations are now invited for the 2013 Yara Prize, which can be awarded to any qualified candidate(s) recognized for their contributions to reducing hunger and poverty in Africa. The Prize focuses on food; the improvement of sustainable food production and availability and the development of local markets in Africa, as a contribution to reduce hunger and poverty. This year, its specific focus is on young women and men who are making a particular effort within agriculture paying particular attention to innovation and entrepreneurship.

Objectives of the Yara Prize

The Yara Prize will;

  • recognize outstanding contributions to sustainable food production with socio-economic impact in the smallholder sector
  •  recognize food and nutrition security and sustainable agricultural initiatives with a transformative power and serve as inspiration for action to scale up the African green revolution
  • increase awareness of social and environmental conditions in Africa and the prevailing dynamics affecting agriculture and food and nutrition security
  • provide inspirational example(s) of African leadership


The Yara Prize can be awarded to:

  • any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.
  • any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, whose work, and contributions deriving from the work, has had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.

Other criteria

  • The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievement, or a series of efforts and results; recently or in the past, or over a period of time – judged as viable and in accordance with acknowledged principles of sustainability.
  • Current or recent members of the Yara Prize Committee, or an institution/organization headed by such a member, are ineligible for the Prize. The Prize cannot be awarded to a person already deceased, but will be presented in the event a Prize winner dies before receiving the Prize.

The Prize

The prize can be awarded to more than one winner, but not more than two. If shared, each winner will receive;

  • equal prize money (USD 60 000 divided in two),
  • a diploma and
  • a trophy

Prize will be awarded based on the following:

  • Well-proven leadership
  • African owned and led
  • Sustainability of the initiative
  • Initiatives moving to scale or with potential to move to scale
  • Evaluation


In order to be considered by the Prize Committee, all nominations and supporting documentation must be received by May 3, 2013.

For more information, click here.