The King Baudouin African Development Prize 2014

Deadline: February 28, 2014

Nominations are now accepted for The King Baudouin African Development Prize 2014. The Prize rewards outstanding contributions of individuals or organizations in the development field in Africa. It spotlights innovative initiatives which improve quality-of-life and empower local communities to take development into their own hands.

The Prize is worth 150.000 Euros and is awarded every other year. Beyond its monetary value, the Prize provides its winners with publicity and an international platform, particularly with the main agents of development, such as the United Nations and its agencies, the World Bank, the European Union and a number of bilateral development agencies, the world of foundations and international NGOs.

The aim of the King Baudouin African Development Prize is to acknowledge the work of persons or organisations which have made an exemplary contribution to development in Africa. It also seeks to draw public attention to the many inspirational stories of hope, struggle and success which emanate from the development field in Africa.


Who qualifies as a candidate?

  • The candidate must be either an individual or an organisation
  • Several individuals or organisations that are not structurally linked cannot be presented as one single candidacy.
  • A former Prize winner may not be submitted a second time as a candidate. If a candidate was not withheld, it may however be submitted again for a next Prize.

Who can Nominate?

The submission of a candidate’s file may only be undertaken by a qualified nominator. The selection committee will not consider applications by individuals who are applying for the Prize themselves or for an organization within which they are active.

For more information, click here.