African Women in Agricultural Research & Development (AWARD) Fellowship 2017/18

African Women in Agricultural Research & Development (AWARD) Fellowship 2017/18

Deadline: October 7, 2017

Applications are open for the African Women in Agricultural Research & Development (AWARD) Fellowship 2017/18. The AWARD Fellowship is a career-development program that since 2008 has, through tailored fellowships, equipped top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their science and leadership skills. The fellowship is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers.

The African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) is working toward inclusive, agriculture-driven prosperity for the African continent by strengthening the production and dissemination of more gender-responsive agricultural research and innovation. They invest in African scientists, research institutions, and agribusinesses so that they can deliver agricultural innovations that better respond to the needs and priorities of a diversity of women and men across Africa’s agricultural value chains.

AWARD Fellows benefit from a two-year fellowship focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Following a highly competitive process, the fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit and leadership capacity.


During the two-year fellowship, AWARD Fellows remain in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to attend AWARD training courses held in various locations across Africa. The AWARD Fellowship package includes:

  • One-to-one monthly mentoring by a senior scientist or professional for each AWARD Fellow;
  • Participation in the internationally recognized AWARD Women’s Leadership and Management Course or the AWARD Leadership Skills Course;
  • Support to host a community role-modeling event;
  • Participation in AWARD Science Skills Courses, with an option of science or proposal writing;
  • Opportunities to compete for advanced science training at leading international universities and institutions.


  • Open to Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of the following countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Guinea, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, and Togo;
  • They must have completed bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree;
  • All domains in agriculture and food are eligible;
  • Priority will be given to scientists working on research to benefit the sorghum and millet value chains, seed systems, and agroecological transitions.


  • All applicants must complete the online application form.
  • Should you have any technical problems with the online form, please send an email to [email protected] with the subject line: Application Help. AWARD will get in touch with you within 48 hours to solve your problem.

Successful candidates must be available to attend a five-day AWARD Mentoring Orientation Workshop to be held on February 18-23, 2018, in Kenya.

For more information, see FAQ or visit AWARD Fellowship.