Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Deadline: May 15, 2015

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan is one of the largest and most prestigious scholarships schemes for international study in the world. Since it was established in 1959, around 30,000 individuals have benefited – 24,000 of them have held awards funded by the United Kingdom, managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC).

2015 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are being offered for the following Master’s courses

  • MSc in Palliative Medicine and Care (Cardiff University)
  • MSc Tropical Forestry (Bangor University)
  • MSc Public Health Promotion (Leeds Beckett University)
  • MSc Clinical Trials, MSc Epidemiology, MSc Global Health Policy, MSc Infectious Diseases and MSc Public Health (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)
  • MSc Education for Sustainability (London South Bank University)
  • MSc Water and Environmental Management (Loughborough University)
  • MSc Development Management, MSc Environmental Management (Open University)
  • MSc Poverty Reduction: Policy and Practice (SOAS, University of London)
  • MA Education and International Development (UCL Institute of Education)
  • MPH Public Health and Primary Care (University of Manchester)
  • MA Education (Flexible), PGCEi Post Graduate Certificate of Education International (University of Nottingham)
  • MSt International Human Rights Law (University of Oxford)
  • MSc Gerontology (University of Southampton)
  • MSc Dementia Studies (University of Stirling)
  • MSc Finance, LM Information Technology and Telecommunications Law and LLM Internet Law and Policy (University of Strathclyde).

See full listings here.


To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, you must:

  • be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person. See list of commonwealth countries.
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

How to Apply

  • You must complete an EAS application. Please note that it is not possible to submit an EAS application after the deadline that you will see when you open an application.
  • The UK university will then decide whether or not to nominate you to the CSC.
  • The CSC then selects which of the shortlisted nominated candidates to fund.

For more information, visit Commonwealth Scholarships