Christine Mirzayan Science & Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program 2021 [for U.S. only]

Christine Mirzayan Science & Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program 2021 [for U.S. only]

Deadline: April 30, 2021

Applications are open for the Christine Mirzayan Science & Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program 2021. The Fellowship Program, now in its 22nd year, is a full-time hands-on training and educational program that provides early career individuals with the opportunity to spend 12 weeks at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine in Washington, DC learning about science and technology policy and the role that scientists and engineers play in advising the nation.

Each year, applicants from around the world become part of an Academies’ unit where they are assigned to a mentor and learn about the world of science and technology policy. An immersive experience, the program is designed to broaden fellows’ appreciation of employment opportunities outside academia and leave them with both a firm grasp of the important and dynamic role of science and technology in decision-making and a better understanding of the role that they can play in strengthening the science and technology enterprise for the betterment of mankind.


  • This program does not fund research, award scholarships, or provide financial aid assistance of any kind. If you are awarded a fellowship, a stipend is provided.
  • For the 2020 session, the stipend for the 12-week program is $9,250. The fellowship stipend is provided to offset living expenses during the fellowship period.


  • Open to graduate students, postdoctoral students, and professional school students (e.g, Master’s, JD, MD, PhD).
  • Graduate and professional school students and those who have completed graduate studies within the last five years may apply.
  • Areas of study may include social/behavioral sciences, health and medicine, physical or biological sciences, engineering, law/business/public administration, or relevant interdisciplinary fields.
  • Applicants who are not US citizens or US permanent residents must hold one of the following visas:
    • F-1 Students using CPT (Curricular Practical Training).
    • F-1 Students using OPT (Optional Practical Training).
    • J-2 Dependents.
    • J-1 Students using academic training.
    • J-1 Research Scholars with written approval of their Responsible Officer.
    • DACA recipients.
    • Adjustment Applicants, Refugees, Asylees, and Selected other visa classes.


The 2021 session of the Mirzayan Fellowship will begin on August 30 and conclude on November 19, 2021.

Click here to register

For more information, visit Christine Mirzayan Fellowship.